ASHLAND, Ore. -- The Ashland Elks Lodge hosted the Southwest District Hoop Shoot at Phoenix High School in late January with each Lodge in the Southwest District sending their respective local winners to the second-round competition to determine state-level competitors.

The Southwest District is comprised of Ashland, Brookings, Coos Bay, Coquille Valley, Grants Pass, Myrtle Creek and Roseburg.

48 boys and girls, ages 8-13, competed for six positions (two each in three age groups).

Roseburg Hoop Shooters took three of the six positions, one in each of the age groups.

Lillian Hollenbeck (Sunnyslope Elementary, 8-9 year old girls) won by sinking 9 of 25 baskets.

190206 L Hollenbeck District HP 8 9

Khloe Grotting (West Intermediate, Sutherlin) beat out the competition for the 10-11 year old girls by making 15 of 25 shots.

190206 K Grotting District HS 10 11

Joseph Fusco (Geneva Academy) won the 12-13 year old boys position by making 21 of 25 baskets.

190112 Hoop Shoot 6 Joseph Fusco middle of Geneva Academy 11 12 year old with his brother Micah left and Hoop Shoot Director Joel Buoy

Honorable mention went to Ryder Kahler (Melrose) for placing fourth for the 8-9 year old boys with 10 of 25.

Micah Fusco placed second for the 10-11 year old boys in a shoot-off round against Tyler Senn of Coquille Valley (Fusco 18 of 35, Senn 21 of 35).

Kaitlyn Nunley (Fremont) rounded off the Roseburg representation with a fourth-place finish for 12-13 girls, sinking 7 of 25.

Roseburg Elks Lodge Hoop Shoot Director Joel Buoy was very proud of the Roseburg Hoop Shooters, organizers said. Buoy is also the Southwest District Director and excited for all the kids that will be going on to the State competition.

The remaining District first-place winners include: Jayden Rossetta (Grants Pass, boys 8-9), Tyler Senn (Coquille Valley, boys 10-11), and Mackenzie Powers (Grants Pass, girls 12-13).

The six Southwest District’s skilled free-throwers will move on to State level competition which will be held in Silverton on February 16.

From there, winning individuals move on  to the Regional Hoop Shoot in Vancouver, Washington. All Regional competitions across the country will be held on March 9, with the final level of competition being the National Hoop Shoot playoff in Chicago on April 27.

The national winners play for the opportunity to have their name placed in the Basketball Hall of Fame.

The Roseburg Elks have been sponsoring the annual Hoop Shoot for over 50 years.

For more about the Hoop Shoot program, contact Joel Buoy at (541) 672-4455 or visit the Elks website at

(posted 2/6/19)