ROSEBURG, Ore. -- The Casey Diermert Memorial Scholarship Committee and the Boys & Girls Club of the Umpqua Valley have announced the recipients of the 2019-20 Casey Diemert Memorial Scholarship Award.

graduation diploma stock image via Pixabay

The scholarship is designed to assist Roseburg High School graduates who have not previously enrolled in college and will attend a public or nonprofit college or university in Oregon or North Dakota.

  • Logan McGrew will enter his freshman year at Umpqua Community College to study Nursing.
  • Evelynne Villanueva will also enter the freshman class at UCC to study Biology.
  • Isabel Webber will enter Northwest Christian University as a freshman in Biochemistry.

“These students really represent the best of Roseburg,” explained committee members Roberta and Jim Diemert, parents of the late Casey Diemert. “There were so many outstanding applicants this year which made the selection process so difficult. We wish we could do more.”

The scholarship fund was established in 2002 in memory of Sprintcar driver Casey Robert Diemert, who passed away from injuries suffered during the inaugural race program in 1999.

Casey’s racing career began at the age of 16 in the Street Stock class at the Douglas County Speedway.

In 1993, Casey began competing in a 410 Sprint Car as well as the Street Stock division.

In 1994 Casey won the 360 Sprint Car title in Roseburg and was declared “Driver of the Year.”

Casey was a graduate of Roseburg High School and had earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Health and Safety from Oregon State University.

For more information about the scholarship program, contact the Office of Student Access and Completion at