dc_speedway.jpgROSEBURG, Ore. -- Ricky Perry didn't waste much time making a splash when he started driving full-sized cars.
An impressive debut in the Junior Stingers during opening night at ASA-sanctioned Douglas County Speedway has the Winston, Ore., youngster standing atop the division standings after one race. He has a 17-point lead over Conner McMahan.

Roseburg, Ore.'s Dean Cast leads the ASA Modifieds points after he pulled off a runner-up finish to Chris Schlaht of Happy Valley, Ore., last Saturday night in the second feature race of the season. Cast won the April 18 opener.
Rob Mueller of Roseburg has a narrow Mini Stocks lead, three points over Jason Gotz of Damascus, Ore., after winning the first feature races of the season.

Roseburg's Don Moore leads the Super Stocks standings without winning the main event in the April 18 opener.
Rick Jump of Grants Pass, Ore., has vaulted into the top spot in Street Stocks, leading Roseburg's Jeff Solberg by 28 points.

Oakland racer John Cornilsen holds the J-Cars/Trucks points lead after finishing second to Tim Thorp of Myrtle Creek in the main event last weekend. Cornilsen has a seven-point lead after two races.
James Jobe of Oakland, is the top dog in the Junk Yard Dogs division, while Jessy Jobe and Molly Jobe share the points lead in the Lady Stingers class.

Roseburg's Mike Batman has jumped out to an early lead in the Oldtimers Hardtops after going from eighth to first to win the main event Saturday.

Monte Cox Jr. of Roseburg leads the huge Hornets class with a second-place finish to Dave "the Rev" Jobe on Saturday night after starting the year on April 18 with a main event victory.

The racers take this week off at DCS, but return next Saturday for Sherm's Thunderbird Boat Races featuring Junk Yard Dogs and J-Cars/Trucks. The wacky race which features boats being dragged around the 3/8th-mile oval shares the bill with the Big 5 Late Model 50, Mini Stocks, Super Stocks, Street Stocks and Hornets.

The gates open at 4 p.m., with qualifying at 5 p.m. and racing at 6:30 p.m.

Admission is $12 for adults, $10 for senior citizens, $6 for children ages 7-11 and free for children 6 and younger.
Before Saturday's action, there will be a test and tune from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. Thursday. Car and driver get into the track for only $15.

Log on to www.douglascountyspeedwayonline.com or call 541-672-8744 for more information.

Douglas County Speedway 2009 points standings

ASA Modifieds -- 1. Dean Cast, Roseburg, Ore., 145 points; 2. Steven Snawder, Winston, Ore., 142; 3. Chris Schlaht, Happy Valley, Ore., 120; 4. Tom Ford, Glendale, Ore., 114; Tyrell Mead, Roseburg, 38

Mini Stocks -- 1. Rob Mueller, Roseburg, 242 points; 2. Jason Gotz, Damascus, Ore., 215; 3. Dale Yarbrough, Sutherlin, Ore., 153; 4. Dena James, Sutherlin, Ore., 119; 5. Dale Roth, Roseburg, 109

Super Stocks -- 1. Don Moore, Roseburg, 93 points; 2. Don Livermore, Roseburg, 90; 3. Larry Means, Roseburg, 80; 4. Benjer Herbert, Oakland, Ore., 46; 5. Mike Florence, Roseburg, 26

Street Stocks -- 1. Rick Jump, Grants Pass, Ore., 115; 2. Jeff Solberg, Roseburg, 87; 3. Amos Rhodes, Gold Beach, Ore., 85; 4. Nick Cornilsen, Oakland, 72; 5. Anthony Jones, Roseburg, 69

J-Cars/Trucks -- 1. John Cornilsen, Oakland, 88 points; 2. Tim Thorp, Myrtle Creek, Ore., 81; 3. Nick Cornilsen, Oakland, 56; 4. Clint Hatfield, Roseburg, 36; 5. Mark Jones, Roseburg, 27

Junk Yard Dogs -- 1. James Jobe, Oakland, 93 points; 2. Earl Frazier, Roseburg, 86; 3. Taz Van Diviner, 54; 4. Larry Payne, 50; 5. Ryan Kocks, Sutherlin, 26

Junior Stingers -- 1. Ricky Perry, Winston, 83 points; 2. Conner McMahan, 66; 3. Bailey Lane, Roseburg, 59; 4. Jessie Herbert, 52; 5. Kieri Smith, Myrtle Point, Ore., 17

Lady Stingers -- 1. (tie) Jessy Jobe, Oakland, 76; Molly Jobe, Oakland, 76; 3. Kristen Robbins, Murphy, Ore., 59; 4. Jennifer Taylor, Myrtle Creek, 57; 5. Melody Stutzman, Sutherlin, 16

Oldtimer Hardtops -- 1. Mike Batman, Roseburg, 95; 2. Tim Jennings, Winston, 82; 3. Bill Trotter, 59; 4. Dustin Trotter, 57; 5. Mark Minter, Roseburg, 47

Hornets -- 1. Monte Cox Jr., Roseburg, 228; 2. Danny Saunders, Oakland, 202; 3. Don Tigrett, 178; 4. Dave "the Rev" Jobe, Oakland, 166; 5. David Beals, Roseburg, 128