lewisrace.jpgBy BZ ZELLER
Gary Lewis came to Roseburg as the hottest driver in the American Speed Association. The Snohomish, Wash., racer didn’t cool down, winning the ASA Northwest Late Model Tour’s K-DOCK Radio 125 Saturday night at the Douglas County Speedway.
The fastest qualifier in the 25-car field, Lewis passed Brent Harris, Wenatchee, Wash., on Lap 26 with an inside move on Turn 3. The event scheduled for 125 laps, was hampered by nine yellow flags. After 74 circuits consumed an hour and 20 minutes, officials waved the checkered flag for Lewis’ orange No. 73 Chevrolet because of curfew.
“It was my plan to set up the pass on the backstretch,” Lewis said. I knew I had to execute it just right. The timing had to be just right to drive underneath him (Harris) in Turn 3. I knew we had the best car.”
Only half the cars finished on the lead lap and Lewis attributed his ability to stay clear of track altercations due to his position and competitor courtesy.
“Luckily we were up front and were able to avoid contact,” Lewis said. “The lapped guys were really good. They gave me plenty of room to get around them.” lewismug.jpg
Lewis’ recent success includes a win at the Montana 200, his third consecutive, followed by a win of the Idaho 200, also a third straight year. Last weekend he won the ARCA West MAC Series Can-Am 150 at Montana Raceway in Kalispell, Mont.
Several local racers competed with the Tour drivers. Riley Watson, 14th and Wade Koens, 16th , finished only one lap down. Dale Roth was involved in two separate collisions and finished 20th. Kyle Pope had mechanical problems and did not qualify.
Joey Tanner, Portland, won the ASA NWLM Trophy Dash.
The Outlaw Compact Auto Racing Tour also came to DCS.
Jim Perry, Federal Way, Wash., took advantage of race leader Drew Harthorn, Bremerton, Wash., being held up by slower traffic and moved to the lead on Lap 22. Perry cruised his yellow No. 83 Ford Mustang in the front for the next 20 circuits as the 50-Lap Main was reduced to 42.
The Outlaw Mini Stock feature was a clean sweep for the visiting racers behind Perry. Harthorn finished second and Rod Helmuth, Woodinville, Wash. was third.
Jason Gotz, Damascus, who won last year’s Outlaw Main, was the fastest qualifier, but had mechanical failure and did not finish. Joe Forsman, Veneta, won the Dash. Richard Dickenson, Glide, Steven McMahan and Helmuth all won their respective Heat races.
Jimmy Smith won the Super Stock Main. Smith was running a tight third place until race leaders Doug Risley and Benjer Herbert collided near the finish. Herbert, the season points leader, finished second and Risley placed third. Andy Schmelzer won the Dash and Risley won the Heat.
Nick Cornlisen won the Street Stock Main, Heat and Time Trial. Points leader Amos Rhodes won the Dash.
Daniel Butterfield continued his successful Hornet season by winning his first-ever Main. Butterfield, who started racing 21 years ago was overcome with emotion during his trophy presentation.
“I’ve been waiting since 1988 for this moment,” Butterfield said. “I’ve wanted this win so bad.”
Behind Butterfield to the checkered was Helmuth, David Beals, Daniel Jobe and Bob Vancil. Beals was the fast qualifier.
Jessy Jobe won the Lady Stinger Main and clinched the points championship. Jade Baumann won the Heat.
Ricky Perry won the Junior Stinger Main, Heat and clinched its championship.
Racing resumes Saturday at DCS featuring the ASA NSRA Sprintcar Don Hein Memorial. Also on the race card are the ASA Modifieds, the Old Time Racers, Hornets and Junk Yard Dogs. Gates open at 4 p.m. with qualifying at 5 p.m.
*You can reach Douglas County Speedway writer/announcer BZ Zeller at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
August 22, 2009 Official Finish:
iRacing.com ASA Northwest Late Model Tour
K-DOCK Radio 125 at Douglas County Speedway
Pos Laps Name Hometown Home
1 74 Gary Lewis Snohomish, WA
2 74 Brent Harris E. Wenatchee, WA
3 74 Jay Sauls Puyallup, WA
4 74 Randy Houston Cottonwood, CA
5 74 Howard Ford Crescent City, CA
6 74 Brad Stanwood Portland, OR
7 74 David Miller Coquille, OR
8 74 Junior Roddy Gualala, CA
9 74 Alan Cress Albany , OR
10 74 Bobby Hirschbock Klamath Falls, OR
11 74 Allen Gibney Fort Bragg, CA
12 74 Jeff Smith West Linn, OR
13 74 Josh Braudway Eatonville, WA
14 73 Riley Watson Roseburg, OR
15 73 Mike Doss Upper Lake, CA
16 73 Wade Koens Roseburg, OR
17 71 Paul Blake Hillsboro, OR
18 68 Amanda McDonald Ephrata, WA
19 56 Kevin Ostern Lucerne, CA
20 53 Dale Roth Roseburg, OR
21 50 Chris Celorie Dammascus, OR
22 42 Kelly Mann Monroe, WA
23 36 Martin Stanwood Portland, OR
24 19 Mike Lovell Willitis, CA
25 3 Joey Tanner Portland, OR

(Photos by BZ Zeller: Gary Lewis (73), Snohomish, Wash., races to victory Saturday night in the ASA Northwest Tour K-DOCK Radio 125 at the Douglas County Speedway; Gary Lewis headshot)